Creator Platform CostsWhat your platform keeps from your paid audience
For paid newsletters & course sellers

What your platform takes from paid revenue

Short answer

  • Substack states 10%. Flat plans cost less above $490/mo (beehiiv Lite), $950/mo (Pro) or $290/mo (Ghost) of paid revenue, card fees equal.
  • Kit charges 3.5% + 30¢ including cards; MailerLite Comfort is $17.10/mo at 1,000 subscribers yearly, on an assumed 0% share.
  • One list size (1,000), yearly prices, Stripe assumed where unstated. Skool rows are lower bounds.

Calculate my scenario ↓

Fees modeled from each vendor’s own page, checked October 24, 2026 and October 25, 2026. Larger lists, add-ons and processor terms change the total and are not modeled here.

Card processing assumption (edit if your rate differs)

Default = Stripe’s published US card rate (“2.9% + 30¢ per successful transaction for domestic cards”, stripe.com/pricing, checked October 24, 2026).

Gross sales per month$0.00

    Newsletter plan prices are each vendor’s monthly-equivalent at 1,000 subscribers, billed yearly; larger lists cost more and are not modeled. Each result says where its card-processing figure comes from: vendor-stated, vendor-published, included in the vendor’s fee, an assumption (tagged “processor rate assumed”) that uses the editable rate on the left, or not stated (tagged “processing not stated”; none is added). This is arithmetic on published rates, not a quote. Formulas & limits.

    The one number most creators are looking for

    Substack vs flat-fee plans

    Substack states a 10% share of paid revenue and no monthly fee. A flat-fee plan wins once 10% of your monthly paid revenue passes the plan’s price: $290/mo vs Ghost Publisher, $490/mo vs beehiiv Lite, $950/mo vs beehiiv Pro (card fees treated as equal).

    See the math →

    Kit’s different shape

    Kit charges 3.5% + 30¢ per sale, card fees included, on every plan including Free. Against Substack’s 10% + card fees, Kit’s paid Creator plan ($32.50/mo from its $390 yearly invoice; Kit displays $33) costs less above about $345.74/mo in paid revenue; Kit’s Free plan costs less at any positive revenue (Substack’s card rate is assumed standard).

    Compare at four revenue levels →

    Selling courses?

    Fees there mix monthly price, transaction cuts (Teachable Starter lists 7.5%, Podia Mover 5%, Skool Hobby 10%) and payment rates. On the captured subscription and transaction fees alone, Skool’s Hobby plan costs less than Pro below about $1,267.61/mo in sales (the page does not say whether card processing is included or extra, so the real crossover may differ); Podia’s Mover costs less than Shaker below $1,000/mo (monthly billing) or $840/mo (annual). Course platform table →

    Patreon and MailerLite

    Patreon states 10% of income plus processing and other fees — the same share Substack states. MailerLite Comfort is $17.10/mo at 1,000 subscribers (billed yearly); if its platform share is 0% (the page states none, which does not prove it), a 10% share passes it at about $171/mo. Patreon’s result excludes its conversion and payout fees. See both in the comparison →

    Mailchimp and MailCheap

    Priced by contacts (Mailchimp) or emails sent (MailCheap), with no revenue share on the page, so they are not in the take-rate calculator. Mailchimp guide · Send vs subscriber pricing

    What this site does and doesn’t claim